Music and Words

November 21, 2011

The Thing About NaNoWriMo

Filed under: Words — melomania @ 1:13 pm

I like writing. I do. Why else would I have a blog? I also like writing fiction just fine. I’ve got no problems with fiction.

Remember my post about being in college, when I talked about how I feel about composing music? How I said that I could write music by following the rules, but I’m not “inspired” to write music, and I never “have a melody floating around in my head that just has to be written down”?

I’m like that with novel-writing too, apparently.

Last year and this year, I started NaNoWriMo because I wanted to write. I didn’t have a story in mind, there was no plot or character that was just “begging to be written”. I came up with a plot that I liked reasonably well, but there’s nothing that I just have to get out of my brain.

I’m not writing the next Great American Novel, that’s for sure.

This means that once I get past the urge to just write, I lose motivation. This year I like my story, I’m not bored with it, but I don’t have any strong desire to finish it. Actually, I’d rather just sit around and relax by reading books. The weather is just starting to get nice here in Tucson, which means it’s no longer 90 degrees out, and I’d rather just curl up with a good book and enjoy the feeling of fall.

I had a desire to write, I wrote, and now I’ve moved on.

Actually I wrote over 17K words this year, while I was just over 10K last year. I’m considering that to be progress.

There’s no story begging to get out of my head, just like there’s no song begging to be played. I just like writing. And honestly, writing 17,000 words in two weeks is enough to satisfy me for a while. Even this blog post isn’t going to be very long.

I wouldn’t mind getting this particular story written, since I like it and I think it’s not a bad plot. The problem is I don’t have to. I don’t have any little voice in my head bothering me until I get it all out. And I’m ok with that. (I’d probably just drive myself crazy anyway.)

Blog at WordPress.com.

